Skip to content

School of Arts and Sciences Celebrates Seniors

May 15, 2017

On Friday, May 12, the School of Arts and Sciences held a school-wide ceremony to celebrate its graduating seniors.

Students from the School of Arts and Sciences recieved awards for academic excellence.

“This is always my favorite event because it gives us a chance to recognize the special achievements of our students and the accomplishments of our talented and dedicated faculty,” said Dr. Jim Bowers, interim dean of the School, who served as the master of ceremonies.

During the ceremony, faculty members from 19 programs and departments presented awards to more than 30 students.

Award winners included:

  • Provost’s Award for Best Paper: Mary Pelkowski
  • Marsherall Award for Academic Achievement: Rachel Watson (honors student)
  • Honors Award for Contribution to the Academic Experience: Jillian Branciforte (honors student)
  • Award for Excellence in American Studies: Marissa Lippa (honors student)
  • Award for Excellence in Anthropology: Rachel Watson (honors student)
  • Citizen-Scholar Award in Anthropology: Alyssa Mountain
  • Award for Excellence in Biology: Allison Seyfried
  • Joan Rowan Memorial Award (Biology): Mary Pelkowski
  • Undergraduate Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry (Sponsored by the American Chemical Society, Rochester Section): Benjamin Reinhardt
  • Award for Excellence in Criminology and Criminal Justice: Jacqueline Moyer, Louis Noriega
  • Award for Excellence in Economics Award: Anthony J. Klemczak
  • Clarence Amann Award (English): Alyssa Mountain
  • Matthew Richards Prize (English): Dominique Recuparo (honors student)
  • Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages: Jillian Branciforte (honors student), Ashley Wzontek
  • James S. Doyle Memorial Award for Excellence in Experiential Learning (History): Rachel Watson (honors student)
  • John A. Murray Award (History): Briannyn Payne
  • Zelda Lyons Award (humanities): Shannon DeHoff
  • Boris D. Rakover Award (Mathematics and Computing Science): Bridget Butera (honors student), Alessandro Grossman
  • Barbara F. Wheeler-Schneider Award (Media and Communication): Kyle Cataldo (honors student), Alexandra Hristodoulou
  • Gary “Scoop” Cuminale Award (Media and Communication): Caitlin Murphy
  • James Seward Senior Award for Excellence in Media and Communication: Nicholas Camardo (honors student)
  • Keough Founding Editors’ Award (Media and Communication): Margaret Hogan-Rao
  • Award for Excellence in Media Management: Olivia Rotondo
  • Award for Excellence in Natural Sciences: Christine Burton, Minh Phuc Huynh Nguyen, Gregory Rupert
  • Robert G. Miller, C.S.B., Award in Philosophy and Classical Studies: Nicholas Schwarm (honors student)
  • Stefan Maczynski Award (Political Science): Samantha Call, Harry DeVoe
  • Psychology-Academic Achievement: Lindsay Shanks (honors student)
  • Psychology-Academic Engagement: Thomas Goetze
  • Psychology-Commitment to Scholarly Activity: Samantha Feck
  • Award for Excellence in Sociology: Kaitlyn Shamp
  • Award for Excellence in Sport Studies: McKayla Johnson (honors student)
  • Deirdre McKiernan Hetzler Award for Women and Gender Studies Scholarship: Dominique Recuparo
  • Kate Gleason Award (Women and Gender Studies): Shannon DeHoff