Skip to content

Accounting Alumnus of the Year Award

The Accounting Alumnus of the Year award was created in 1990 to honor the achievements of distinguished St. John Fisher College accounting alumni.

The recipient must not only exemplify Fisher's core values, but must meet three basic criteria of noteworthy career achievement, significant humanitarian effort, and outstanding contribution to the St. John Fisher College Community.

2019 Recipient

Lauren Gleba Burns ’82

Vice President, Business Development, for TalentBridge LLC

St. John Fisher College honored Lauren Gleba Burns ’82 as its 2019 Accounting Alumnus of the Year during the 30th annual Accounting Awards Banquet, held on Thursday, March 28.

Dean Rama Yelkur, Lauren Gleba Burns, President Gerard Rooney

Dean Rama Yelkur, Lauren Gleba Burns, President Gerard Rooney

As vice president of business development for TalentBridge LLC, Burns is responsible for developing new business relationships, establishing a sales program for multiple offices, and developing new marketing strategies to grow the upstate market.

She functioned as a CPA and CFE for 17 years before diving back into the CPA world by developing and managing a full service, payroll processing firm with Bonadio & Co. There, she grew the business to nearly $3 million in revenue before it was acquired by ADP Payroll.

Simultaneously, she brought the Moxie Exchange to Rochester in 2011, a national women’s leadership organization. The Rochester chapter has since assisted more than 500 local women to grow both personally and professionally, encouraging them to become better thought leaders, stronger businesswomen, and greater contributors to the community.

In addition, Burns formed and grew two substantial networking organizations in Rochester—the TIP Club and High Value Business Group—both of which develop and guide individuals whether they are business owners, civic leaders, or valuable employees in this community.

As a former resident assistant at Fisher, class president throughout her time on campus, and dedicated student worker, Burns has continued her volunteer work with the College. She currently serves as a co-chair of the Scholarship Golf Tournament, has served on the President’s Strategic Planning Council, and has participated in numerous fundraising activities. Outside of her involvement with Fisher, she volunteers for the Open Door Mission and Habitat for Humanity.

Past Recipients

Recipients 2010 -


David Pitcher ’78
Partner and Shareholder, Davie Kaplan, CPA


James P. Brennan '92
Partner, Deloitte & Touche, LLP


Keith Senglaub '81
Senior Vice President of Finance and CFO, Feld Entertainment


Jill Knittel '94, '03 (MBA)
Financial Advisor, Sage Rutty & Co., Inc.


Steven Terrigino '89
Partner, The Bonadio Group's Small Business Advisory Group


Cheryl Yawman '86
Practice Director of Accounting and Finance, Cochran, Cochran and Yale


Thomas Walpole '74
Owner, Thomas P. Walpole, CPA


Richard Brienzi '81
Executive Vice President and CFO, Ovation Payroll, Inc.


Robert E. Tokarz '71
Retired Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP

Recipients 2000 - 2009


John F. Magee, CPA '81
CFO, The Bonadio Group


Raymond J. D'Agostino '74
Partner, Deloitte


Michael C. Goonan '75
CFO & VP, University of Rochester Medical Center


James J. Leo '71
CFO, Wegmans Food Markets, Inc.


Victor E. Salerno, Jr. '66
CEO, O'Connell Electric Company


Kristin M. Clark '86
Partner, The Bonadio Group


John F. Heveron '69
President, Heveron & Heveron, CPAs


Martin Mucci '81
Senior VP of Operations Paychex


P. Gerald Sokolski '63
Tax Partner Mengel, Metzger, Barr & Co.


Nancy E. Catarisano '83
Partner, Insero & Co.,

Recipients 1990 - 1999


Stanley D. Konopko '76
Partner, The Bonadio Group


Gary J. Scott '69
Administrative Director, Westfall Surgery Center


Gerald J. Archibald '74
Partner, The Bonadio Group


Edward J. Lynd '56
Financial Consultant, Retired


James T. Sorenson '70
International Managing Partner, KPMG


Gerald E. VanStrydonk '66
Managing Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers


David A. Niermeyer '63
President, Stakmore Company, Inc.


Paul E. Haney '63
Monroe County Legislature


Thomas B. Hogan '67
Managing Partner, Deloitte


Thomas F. Bonadio '71
Managing Partner, The Bonadio Group