Skip to content

School of Arts and Sciences Celebrates Seniors

May 11, 2016

This year, the School of Arts and Sciences held an inaugural school-wide ceremony to recognize graduating seniors.

Faculty honored graduating seniors during the School of Arts and Sciences awards ceremony.

“It is a pleasure for all of us, faculty and staff of Arts and Sciences, to gather on the day before graduation to recognize the achievements of our students in both academics and leadership,” said Dr. Daryl Hurd, who served as the master of ceremonies.

During the ceremony, faculty members from 14 programs and departments presented awards to more than 25 students. The seniors also heard remarks from President Gerard Rooney, Interim Dean Theresa Westbay, and Dr. Bob Curtis ’78, president of the Alumni Association.

Award winners included:

  • Provost’s Award for Best Paper: Michael Montemalo
  • Honors Award for Academic Achievement: Alex DeRosa
  • Honors Award for Intellectual Community: Michael Roman
  • Award for Excellence in Anthropology: Michael De Carolis
  • Citizen-Scholar Award in Anthropology: Kali Ann Murphy
  • Award for Excellence in Biology: Raechel McUmber
  • Joan Rowan Memorial Award (Biology): Sharon Husung
  • Undergraduate Award for Outstanding Achievement in Chemistry (Sponsored by the American Chemical Society, Rochester Section): Thomas DiProspero
  • Clarence Amann Award (English): Cody Schweickert
  • Matthew Richards Prize (English): April Gaudy
  • Award for Excellence in Foreign Languages: Luis Rodriguez-Cirilo
  • James S. Doyle Memorial Award for Excellence in Experiential Learning (History): Morgan Wheat
  • John A. Murray Award (History): Morgan Wheat
  • Boris D. Rakover Award (Mathematics and Computing Science): Tyler Witter
  • Barbara F. Wheeler-Schneider Award (Media and Communication): Camille Audette
  • Gary “Scoop” Cuminale Award (Media and Communication): Nicklas Ferguson
  • James Seward Senior Award for Excellence in Media and Communication: Amanda Bly
  • Keough Founding Editors’ Award (Media and Communication): Emily Mein
  • Award for Excellence in Media Management: Chloe Smith
  • Award for Excellence in Natural Sciences: Kelsey Moore
  • Stefan Macznyski Award (Political Science): Michael Montemalo, John Muir
  • Psychology-Academic Achievement: Megan Maley
  • Psychology-Academic Engagement: Alexandria Snow
  • Psychology-Commitment to Scholarly Activity: Brian Smith
  • Award for Excellence in Sociology: Nicole Donati
  • Award for Excellence in Sport Studies: Kayci Nucci
  • Deirdre McKiernan Hetzler Award for Women and Gender Studies Scholarship: Kelsey Moore
  • Kate Gleason Award (Women and Gender Studies): Alysah Berwald, Erica Maeder