News Detail

Fisher Honors Staff Award Winners


Fisher Honors Staff Award Winners

On Tuesday, April 24, over 100 staff members from the St. John Fisher College community attended the Staff Appreciation Ceremony, to honor four staff members for exemplary performance.

Each year, the Staff Recognition Committee honors staff members nominated by their peers. The winners of the awards were announced by Dan Borrello ’02, a Communication/Journalism graduate who now works as an executive producer and sports director of 96.5 WCMF’s “The Break Room.”

Freshman “Rookie of the Year” Award

Given to the employee who: has been employed for three years or fewer; “hit the ground running;” made a positive and immediate impact on the College community; embraces the Fisher spirit; and shows imagination, creativity, and innovation.

This year’s winner was Kate Torok, Senior Communication Specialist, in the Office of Marketing and Communications.

In the words of her nominator, “From the moment Kate arrived on campus, she has made a difference. Her initiative and work ethic were evident to all from her first day on the job. Her previous experience taught her discipline and professionalism, which is paramount in all she does.”

Her nominator also gave Torok credit for new initiatives on campus, including the “Fisher Family News” parent newsletter, the “Countdown to Commencement” video series, Breakfast with the President events, and the Battle of the Beaks social media contest. Torok was also recognized for expanding the College’s overall presence in social media areas, including Facebook and Twitter.

It was noted that Torok has taken time to share her expertise with several Communication/Journalism classes, as well as most Freshman Seminar classes. In addition, she has been a key member of the College’s Wellness Committee.

Cardinal Award

Presented to the employee who: fosters positive attitude; has a Fisher focus; bridges lines across departments; and demonstrates initiative.

The Cardinal Award recipient was Eileen Atwell, Senior Administrative Assistant, Ralph C. Wilson, Jr, School of Education.

Atwell is the first impression many people have of the School of Education. She is often the person superintendents, students, faculty, parents, and others who call will speak with first. According to her nominator, her “self-discipline, self-initiative, and professional ethics are evident in work beyond her normal job duties.”

She assists all 27 faculty members in the School of Education, and this past summer, took it upon herself to participate in the planning and organizing of the College’s first AP Summer Institute Conference, which welcomed teachers from all over the world to the Fisher campus.

Her nomination read, “Her attitude, efficiency, and attentive etiquette are offered while simply greeting someone, processing someone’s request or problem solving. Simply put, she is the soul of the School of Education.

Good Samaritan Award

Recognizes an employee who: gives of their own time to make a difference in others’ lives; provides outreach to the Fisher community or the greater community; leads by example; reaches out to others to join in the effort; and serves as a natural way of living and not out of obligation.

The Good Samaritan Award was presented to Steve Watts, from the Safety and Security Department.

In his nomination, Watts was recognized for placing the “needs of the Fisher campus first, and always serving the campus with a positive attitude. He holds himself to a high standard of behavior, and always leads by example while demonstrating personal and professional integrity.”

Watts is very involved with various campus initiatives and is very visible to all faculty, staff, and students.

His nominator also noted that Watts gave up a week of his vacation to be a volunteer chaperone and participate on Team JASY in May 2010.

“His giving nature was always evident as he worked with fellow teammates and coordinated a sports camp for underprivileged children in Kingston, Jamaica. Incorporating teamwork, values, and fun, his work made a difference in the lives of the 125 children who were served.”

Students’ Choice Award

Presented to the employee who: has daily actions and efforts that are consistently aligned with the Fisher student in mind; looks out for the well-being of each student; is proactive in fostering and promoting the success of students; and reaches out to students in need.

The Students’ Choice Award was presented to Clarence Norman, Director of the Higher Education Opportunities Program.

In his nomination, Norman was recognized for placing the needs of Fisher students first. “He takes pride in his job and certainly values education. He teaches the students to respect themselves as well as the people around them, and encourages students to be self-disciplined as he helps them become well-rounded individuals.”

His work with students to enhance their communication skills, knowledge, and self-esteem was also noted.

His nominators also recognized Norman’s passion for education, and his work to help all students achieve their goals.

“He is always available to listen to any issues or concerns that the students have and will give appropriate advice on how to solve these issues. He supports the students throughout college and remains supportive even after graduation.”

The additional nominees who received honorable mention were:

  • Carol Barbato, Accounts Payable Specialist, Business Office
  • Tom Boltwood, Shuttle Bus Driver, Safety and Security
  • Fred Cassin, Men’s Football Coach
  • Julie Chantra, Office Manager, Office of Campus Ministry
  • Stacy Dupuis, Circulation Coordinator, Lavery Library
  • John Gefell, Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, Lavery Library
  • Jen Granger, Business Manager/Compliance Coordinator, Athletics Department
  • Lori Hollenbeck, Assistant Dean, Ronald L. Bittner School of Business
  • Liz Lachance, Director of Institutional Research, Office of Institutional Research
  • Carolyn Martin, Assistant to the Dean, Wegmans School of Nursing
  • Katie McDonald, Office of Academic Affairs
  • Matt Miller, Media Support Specialist, OIT
  • Lorenzo Morrison, Custodial Services
  • Amanda Nasso, Residence Director, Residence Life
  • Kerry Prutzman, Laboratory Manager, Chemistry Department
  • Tom Racculia, Admissions Counselor, Office of Freshmen Admissions
  • Jill Rathbun, Executive Assistant, Office of Financial Affairs
  • Dave Ricci, Postal Services Assistant, Central Mail
  • Robin Schmid, Training Support Specialist, OIT
  • John Scott, Custodial Services
  • Nate Sunseri, Media Support Specialist, OIT
  • Maya Temperley, Director of Corporate Fundraising and Government Relations, Development Office
  • Sharon Yockel, Administration Coordinator, Educational Leadership Program

Staff Recognition

Award winners Eileen Atwell, Steve Watts, and Clarence Norman with Dr. Bain.

Staff Recognition

The 2012 Staff Recognition Award nominees.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use