Contact Pharmacy Practice and Administration

Chair: Jack Brown
Office: WEGPHR 315
Phone: (585) 385-7208

News Detail

Wegmans School of Pharmacy Holds 2014 Student Awards


Wegmans School of Pharmacy Holds 2014 Student Awards

The Wegmans School of Pharmacy held an award recognition ceremony to honor faculty and students for their achievements during the last academic year on Friday, May 2.  And this year’s ceremony came with a surprise.

Corporate Sponsor awards were presented first, and include awards from Target, CVS, Walgreens, and Walmart.  

Criteria for the Target Award includes a GPA of 3.0 or higher and plans to work in a community pharmacy after graduation. Megan Monahan was this year’s recipient.

CVS Award recipients must be interested in pursuing community pharmacy as a career and are engaged in patient care activities in a community pharmacy. This year’s recipients included Alyssa Ashworth, Brittany Gould, John Snyder, and Michelle Zaepfel.

Walgreens recognizes students with two awards; the Walgreens Diversity Award and the Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Award. The Diversity Award is awarded to three students of an underrepresented minority group with an interest in community pharmacy. The 2014 winners were Kevin Eich, Rosetta Persaud, and Nhon Ta. The Diversity and Inclusion Award goes to a student who embraces diversity and promotes diversity and inclusions initiative on campus. Andrea Schiliro was this year’s winner.

The Walmart Award is given to a student with high scholastic standing in his/her last three years of school, with a minimum GPA of 3.0, a student that has shown the ability to lead others, and a student who has current or previous experience in community practice and shows a desire to enter community practice upon graduation. The 2014 recipient was Samantha Fiorini.

The Independent Pharmacy Sponsor, Holley Pharmacy, provides a scholarship and this year’s recipient was Heather Miller.

Pharmacy organization awards were also presented, and were given to students who have achieved significant accomplishments because of a pharmacy organization or have received an award from one. The organizations include the Pharmacy Society of Rochester (PSR), the American Society of Health Systems Pharmacists (ASHP), and the American Pharmacists Association.

The PSR Award requires students to write an essay on a specific topic or question, and this year’s question was, “What incentives could a professional society offer to encourage membership?” Lillian Brennan received this award.

Earlier this year, students competed in the local ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition, and the Wegmans School of Pharmacy was represented by Alyssa Pignato and Amy Thein, who were both recognized during the ceremony.

WSOP 2014 Awards

Amy Thein and Alyssa Pignato.

The local APhA Counseling Competition also took place earlier in the year, and Chelsea Payne was recognized for representing the program at that event.

Three students were also awarded the Kodak Diversity Scholarship during the ceremony, and included John Banahene, Hans Boateng, and Kevin Eich.

A group of 19 students also received an award from the Alvin F. and Ruth K. Thiem Foundation.

Recipients of the first Thiem Award were chosen for their PCOA (Pharmacy College Admission Test) exam results and included Timothy Adler, Andrew Decker, Emma Gorman, InLok Lam, and Timothy Slide.

The second group of Thiem Award recipients were chosen primarily for their academic achievements. The winners included Mansour Abdulky, Marwa Amer, Daniel Austin, Stacy Cairns, Elizabeth Fey, Coletta Fry, Margaret Helber, InLok Lam, Megan Monahan, Ann Montaperto, Jason Quitadamo, John Snyder, Matthew Stryker, and Amy Thein.

WSOP 2014 Awards

Some of the Theim Award recipients.

Dr. Scott Swigart, Dean, Wegmans School of Pharmacy, concluded the ceremony with faculty awards.

Advisor of the Year:

  • Dr. Fang Zhao
  • Dr. Keith DelMonte
  • Dr. Karl Williams
  • Dr. Jennifer Mathews
  • Dr. Melinda Lull

WSOP 2014 Awards

From L to R: Dr. Fang Zhao, Dr. Keith DelMonte, Dr. Karl Williams, Dr. Jennifer Mathews, and Dr. Melinda Lull.

Teacher of the Year (chosen by students):

  • Dr. Vivek Dave (P1)
  • Dr. Jennifer Mathews (P2)
  • Dr. David Hutchinson (P3)

Faculty Preceptor of the Year (chosen by students):

  • Dr. Anne Schweighardt 

WSOP 2014 Awards

From L to R: Dr. Anne Schweighardt, Dr. Vivek Dave, Dr. Jennifer Mathews, and Dr. David Hutchinson.

Mathews and Lull secretly organized video shoots throughout the semester in an effort to produce an uplifting video for Swigart, who has been undergoing treatments for pancreatic cancer since last summer. Cecil Felton, Media Center Coordinator, filmed and edited the video. Their hard work paid off, and the video debuted during the ceremony, featuring faculty and staff from across the campus. Swigart, whose family came to the event for the debut, was completely surprised.

WSOP 2014 Awards

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use