News Detail

Executive Leadership Program Honors Graduates


Executive Leadership Program Honors Graduates

The Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education held its hooding ceremony on Friday, May 9, and honored seven students for their efforts in the Executive Leadership program.

The Exemplary Performance in Scholarship Award recognizes one or more doctoral candidates who have submitted outstanding dissertations. Candidates are nominated for the award by the dissertation chair. To be considered for this award, each candidate must meet the following requirements: quality of the candidate's research and other scholarly contributions to leadership theory and practice; originality and appropriateness of the candidate's leadership research and other scholarship; technical competence in the execution of the candidate's leadership research and other scholarship; and value of the candidate's leadership research and other scholarship to the body of knowledge and professional practice.

The winners of this award were Deborah Pearce and Marilee Montanaro.

Marilee Montanaro with Dr. David Martin, Dean of the School of Business, and Dr. Guillermo Montes, Associate Professor.

The Exemplary Performance in Leadership Award recognizes doctoral candidates who have demonstrated outstanding leadership quality during the program. Candidates are nominated for the award by their group members. The recipients are selected based on: value of their contributions to class discussions, group projects, and program improvement; compatibility of their leadership style with the mission, goals, philosophy, and standards of the program; extent that they exemplify the leadership qualities embraced by the program and admired by the candidates; and potential of the candidate to contribute to the development of future leaders.

There were four recipients, including Joshua Fegley, Ellen Wayne, Vicky Ramos, and Pamela Carmichael.

Dr. Jeannine Dingus-Eason, Associate Professor and Program Director; Joshua Fegley; and Dr. Michael Wischnowski, Dean of the Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. School of Education.

The program renamed its service award, formerly known as the Exemplary Performance in Service Award to the Dr. Karyl Mammano Service Award, named for Mammano who was a Professor of Accounting and Director of Nonprofit Management for the Center of Community Engagement at the College who passed away in 2013. She was a valued adjunct faculty member, dissertation chair, and committee member for the Ed.D. Program in Executive Leadership who embodied the elements of this award through her tireless service to community organizations throughout the Rochester area. She was active with Irondequoit Ambulance, Irondequoit Public Library Board of Trustees, Stepping Stones Learning Center, Irondequoit Community Cupboard, Human Touch Initiative, and East House, helping with the management of their finance and accounting practices, strengthening each organization’s ability to provide an important service to the community. She also served in volunteer leadership roles at several of these organizations, as well as serving on the Town of Irondequoit Audit Committee.

Recipients of this award are chosen based on: compatibility of the candidate's service with the standards, goals and philosophy of the program; demonstrated commitment to providing and promoting service opportunities; quality and uniqueness of the candidate's service to the program and community; and the potential impact of the candidate's service on improving the lives and future prospects of individuals and communities. Candidates are nominated for the award by program faculty.

The 2014 recipient was Deborah Pearce.

Dr. Dingus-Eason with Deborah Pearce and Dr. Mary Collins of the Wegmans School of Nursing.

For more photos from the hooding ceremony, visit the College's Facebook page.

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use