Biology Faculty

The faculty of the Department of Biology at St. John Fisher College are professional educators and prioritize their commitment to the education of students above their own research projects. They remain up-to-date within their area of expertise through continued scholarship and have the ability to effectively explain complex concepts and principles of science to students of all levels.

Noveera Ahmed

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 230
Phone: (585) 899-3819
Email: nahmed@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., SUNY Upstate Medical University
B.S., St. John Fisher College
Areas of Interest: Motile flagellar assembly

More Information


Michael L. Boller

Title: Associate Professor
Office: Skalny 214
Phone: (585) 899-3732
Email: mboller@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Rhode Island
M.S., B.S., University at Buffalo
Areas of Interest: Biomechanics of aquatic organisms; ecology of life in moving water

More Information


Kaitlin Bonner

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 224
Phone: (585) 385-5299
Email: kbonner@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., Oregon State University
M.S., University of New Hampshire
B.S., Allegheny College

More Information


Christopher Collins

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 201B
Phone: (585) 385-8496
Email: crcollins@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., M.S., State University of New York at Albany
B.S., Houghton College

More Information


Greg Cunningham

Title: Associate Professor
Office: Skalny 224
Phone: (585) 385-5299
Email: gcunningham@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of California at Davis
B.Sc., University of Guelph
Areas of Interest: Intersection of animal behavior, ecology, and physiology of a variety of bird species

More Information


Jonathan Falanga

Title: Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 235
Phone: (585) 385-8154
Email: jfalanga@sjfc.edu
Education: D.C., New York Chiropractic College
B.S., Cornell University

More Information


Edward A. Freeman

Title: Associate Professor
Office: Skalny 205
Phone: (585) 385-7289
Email: efreeman@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of South Carolina
M.A., Kent State University
B.S., Ohio University
Areas of Interest: Reproductive endocrinology; endocrine disruptors and the impact on oocyte biology

More Information


Jennifer Gantress

Title: Lab Manager
Office: Skalny 236
Phone: (585) 385-8122
Email: jgantress@sjfc.edu
Education: M.S., University of Rochester

More Information


Maryann A.B. Herman

Title: Associate Professor
Office: Skalny 222
Phone: (585) 899-3736
Email: mherman@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., Cornell University
B.S., Allegheny College
Areas of Interest: Bioremediation of lead-contaminated soil; plant-microbe interactions

More Information


Daryl D. Hurd

Title: Associate Professor and Chair, Biology Department
Office: Skalny A235C
Phone: (585) 385-8153
Email: dhurd@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., Indiana University
B.A., Hiram College
Areas of Interest: Molecular, cellular, and genetic analysis of development; neuronal function and behavior

More Information


Virginia Borden Maier

Title: Adjunct Associate Professor and Health Professions Advisor
Office: Skalny A235A
Phone: (585) 385-7394
Email: vmaier@sjfc.edu
Education: M.S., University of Michigan
B.S., University of Rochester

More Information


Jonelle Mattiacio

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: RWILSN 217
Phone: (585) 385-7335
Email: jmattiacio@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University of Buffalo Medical School
B.S., SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

More Information


Fernando Ontiveros

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 215
Phone: (585) 899-3881
Email: fontiveros@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., M.S., University of Rochester
B.S., National Autonomous University of Mexico
Areas of Interest: Inflammation, nanoparticles, and microfluidics

More Information


Kristin F. Picardo

Title: Associate Professor
Office: Skalny 244
Phone: (585) 899-3802
Email: kpicardo@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University at Buffalo
B.S., State University of New York College at Geneseo
Areas of Interest: Microbial pathogenesis; microbial ecology

More Information


Michele Saul

Title: Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: RWILSN 107
Phone: (585) 385-7273
Email: msaul@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., M.S., University of Rochester
B.S., Elizabethtown College

More Information


Kathleen Savage

Title: Assistant Professor
Office: Skalny 201A
Phone: (585) 385-5257
Email: ksavage@sjfc.edu
Education: Ph.D., University at Buffalo
M.S., University of Massachusetts
B.S., Framingham State College
Areas of Interest: Skeletal muscle hypertrophy and atrophy; exercise and nutrition impact on disease

More Information


Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use